canning peaches
I made a very last minute decision to purchase peaches in bulk to can...about a bushel. Canning for some reason, no matter how simple its always a bit stressful for me. I just tell my helpers to "love me through it". We decided to leave the skins on this year. I've done this in the past and really didn't care for it, but we had cut the peaches in slices ~ this time we just cut them mostly into forths so I'm hoping it won't be to difficult to weed through the skins. Also I don't have a dishwasher this year In the cabin so we washed the jars, lids, and collars and stuck them in a 200 degree oven for fifteen minutes(this kills any bacteria), then to keep them warm we just turned the oven down to the lowest setting. Usually I can with honey...never sugar, sometimes making fruit a bit tart, not to pleasing to the taste buds, so I did decide to do a very light sugar syrup ~ using one cup sugar per quart water. Boil that then pour over the peaches in the jars. It took us about two hours total, of course the last twenty-five minutes we just sat while we waited for the canner to be done. *a record for me ~ only one jar bottom broke*
Twenty one quarts!
Happy Summer,
JM

Comments
Post a Comment